#96391  by nomads6
 Thu Jul 16, 2015 9:50 am
Hi All!! Newbie here! :)

We are wanting to import the 2015 Forest River Cherokee 304 BS Travel Trailer or similar layout.

Not only that but we are also wanting to use it in the US for 6 weeks or so and then bring it back, together with a car (older than 20 yrs so no need to convert to RHD). We aim to just use it as a 12 Volt self contained unit, so no need for electrical change. Although as we are thinking of buying new, there might be the option of getting 240 Volt right from the start?

Progressive Insurance has okd it (we have a USA mailbox), just trying to get our head around licensing and registration. Anyone been there and done that and actually managed to make it work?

We factored in about $12000 for shipping, plus GST and customs and MAF. Anything else?

If anyone can see potential pitfalls etc, please give me the cold hard truth! :)

Thanks so much.
 #96398  by mattn
 Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:12 pm
That is a big "caravan" - at 4000kg dry weight you require a COF. This has much stricter requirements than a WoF for a trailer, so you will need to be absolutely certain about it being suitable for New Zealand. Dimensions and braking system come to mind as likely points of contention. There a many stories of people importing motor-homes and finding the do not meet New Zealand standards for things like width and rear overhang and ramp angles - some are re-exported, some they can cut down to size, some a just wrecked as neither option is cost effective. In all cases, its an expensive mistake.