#105951  by Bachonwheels
 Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:34 am
I am a noob at motorhomes and made the costly mistake of buying a 1990 6-berth campervan from a private individual, before researching what the compliance requirements are. Buying the campervan was a stretch on my finances, and every additional cost hurts. The COF of the vehicle is all up to date. The previous owner had it for around 20 years but never bothered with EWOF, so now it is probably up to me and my pocket to get it done. The only items that are connected to 230V are a 3 way fridge, a microwave and an electric heater, battery charger and a relay switchover. I am not sure if it has an RCD. It does have an old looking main on/off switch which can only be switched on by pressing in a little knobby while flicking on the switch. I don't know if it is an RCD. There are no documents or tagging for any of the installation.

1. I am on the shore in Auckland. What is the best way of going about this?
2. What costs am I likely to face?
3. The fridge and water hear both run on gas and all the internal lights are 12V. The microwave is an unnecessary appliance and I am planning to install a diesel heater for winter trips. So, I could completely disregard the 230V system and leave it unused. Would I still require EWOF?
4. Will any campsites refuse me entry, even if I don't connect to their power supply?
5. I know a sparky who does contract work at our factory. If I had to ask him to test and tag the 230V items mentioned, and do any remedial work, would that be good enough to pass the WOEF?
6. Do I need any certification for my LPG system which consists only of a 9kg cyclinder which supplies a gas hob, the fridge and a storage water heater?
 #105961  by Neddy
 Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:25 am
1. What is the best way of going about this?
The simplest and cheapest option would be to do nothing.