Introduce yourselves here
Forum rules: This part of the forum is only for new members to introduce themselves and for them to be welcomed. Please click on "NEW TOPIC" to introduce yourselves. I know it's tempting to "get right on with it" but, if you have questions on a specific topic you should post them in the appropriate place :-)
 #152172  by camandsandy
 Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:23 pm
Hi there
We are a couple in our late 40's currently in the final stages of renovating a very run down 1970s liteweight caravan. Its been a huge job on a tight budget but we can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and it's getting exciting! Would love to leave behind the stresses of high pressure jobs and escape for a year (or more!) to explore our beautiful country. Probably best to start with a few weekends away first tho to iron out any crinkles in the caravan set up :-) Would love to hear from anyone who has ditched the traditional 9-5 (read 7-6!) workday at our age and still managed to survive financially while on the road.
 #152187  by NeilV
 Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:58 pm
Check out our page at

We’re early 40s with two sons 7&10 and been fulltime for the last 6 months, with 6 months left before we must commit or return to our jobs.

Both being Teachers helps with homeschooling our boys and ‘casual labour’ income. I’m busy doing a month of relief teaching in Welly at the minute, and did three weeks in Pukekohe a few months ago.

Living on the road makes it possible to live very frugally when required, just make sure you can ‘freedom camp’ so you’re not stuck paying campsites too often.

What kind of work do you do? Many have found ‘alternate revenue streams’ online, or make things for markets and fares :TU
 #152201  by Holistic Palace
 Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:34 pm
get out there & do it mate
we did it in our 40`s for over 7yrs fulltime, heaps to see & do & season work to pay the way. We did 2 seasonal jobs per year & had 4 months off fluffing around seeing new things
everything you need to know is on this forum, search for it
once on the road, you will naturally meet others who will point you in the right direction to what ever you are looking for or need help with, such a helpful community of like minded folk, who are up bto date on whats happening in the area
 #152387  by torrentfish
 Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:03 pm
I'm 39,been mostly full time since I was 32.i started in a tiny 1992 Ford Econovan, and currently still appreciating the extra space of my ancient 1986 Toyota Dyna.

I survive by doing short contracts in my specialist field, mostly summer field work. Living mobile means I can pick up contracts all over, and live cheaply in between. I hardly ever pay for parking, which means I can afford to keep mechanics in business....

It's a bloody lonely life though. Really struggling at the mo. Amazing how work give you enough social interaction to crave alone time.
Pay with Paymate Express